Star Tours Flight 1138 to Star Wars Land boarding soon

Earlier today, while reloading my Twitter feed regarding the D23 Expo, I learned the best news of all: Disney is making a Star Wars Land at Disneyland and (more important to me geographically) at Disney’s Hollywood Studios at Walt Disney World.

Concept drawing of the Star Wars Land, from StarWars.com
Concept drawing of the Star Wars Land, from StarWars.com

I did all I could to not make the sound of a Krayt dragon. The first version.

Ever since the Star Wars films have blasted their way onto the big screen, I’ve always wanted to experience that world firsthand. I finally got that chance in the early 1990s when our family went on vacation to Disney World. I’m sure upon entering the Disney-MGM Studios, I made a beeline to Star Tours (or clamored my parents to let us go there first). I had seen behind-the-scenes footage on the Disney Channel, but now I was here in the flesh, watching Artoo and Threepio in the first waiting area. I was especially gobsmacked upon taking that wild ride in the Starspeeder. Then, as I walked down the long hallway and entered the merchandising area (Endor Vendors at first, now Tatooine Traders) I gawked at all the cool stuff, wondering if I should get the T-shirt or the keychain.

With Star Tours: The Adventures Continue, which I only first experienced last year, the Star Wars experience was now in 3-D, and you didn’t know where in the galaxy far, far away you were going next. Tatooine? Hoth? Would I ever see Han Solo in the opening portion?

And now comes today’s news. A whole area in the park devoted to Star Wars. A chance to fly the Millennium Falcon? Sign me up! Going into a Cantina? I’ll keep my lightsaber handy, in case any scum and villainy cause trouble. The folks at Disney Imagineering are pretty good at that whole immersive experience thing at the parks, so I’m sure they’ll create something amazing with Star Wars Land.

This would definitely give Disney’s Hollywood Studios the shot in the arm it needs. I’ve always enjoyed going to this park, but despite all the things you can do there, it still felt like there wasn’t a lot to do. Sounded weird in my head, too. And with all the various attractions closing the past few months, I wondered what the heck they had in store.

Perhaps I found my answer.

I’ve never been to the Harry Potter worlds at Universal Orlando, but from what I’ve seen and heard from commercials and such, I have a feeling the Star Wars land will replicate that: the idea of being in the world. Sure, your imagination can conjure all kinds of things after watching the movies or reading the books or playing the video games. But there’s something special about being in a location, soaking all the senses and processing them in your brain.

Whenever this land opens, I will be able to bring a childhood dream to life: to experience more of the Star Wars universe in the real world.

Did that Rodian look at me funny?

Leave a Reply

